Two and a Half Men a tribute to Charlie Sheen

To Charlie with Love

I stood in front of the silvery black tombstone, a garland of roses on one hand and a silk embroidered handkerchief on the other. A golden inscription read:

‘RIP.Here lies a sarcastically funny, witty and a good evening entertainer for the weary comedy lovers after a long day’s work.You’ll be terribly missed.’

Time of death 23:33 hours.That was not on the inscription. I know it because I called it.

When CBS announced Ashton Kutcher as the new character in 2and Half Men I was skeptic. I had worries about the future of the show. The same worries I had when Paul Hennessy (the dad in 8 Simple Rules played by John Ritter ) died. While Paul defined 8 simple rules, Charlie was 2 and Half men. The script had been completetly merged to the character’s personality that the set, stories and supporting acts morphed into a Charlie Sheen biography.

How was Ashton Kutcher going to fit in a show that could have been renamed ‘Charlie’ and still stay true to its original serving?

Enter Walden Schmidt and my worries are confirmed. Watching the first episode of the new season was excruciating. Recycled gags, over use of nudity to grab viewers attention and on top of it a really dumb new addition to the character list. Schmidt is supposed to be a broken hearted internet billionaire but the only thing that was broken was my poor spirit as I watched Walden Schmuck! From then on the show went sinking down like the Titanic. At the end of it, barely awake, I said I’d give it one more try.

Last night I sat in front of the telly ready for the re-run on ‘Comedy Central Extra’.One more try I thought as I braced myself.23:00 hours. That was the beginning of the end of my life. I sat through the pains of death watching a poorly scripted story line accompanied by very bad acting from Kutcher. Then the bombed gag references to cougars, gays,horny beach girls and cheating husbands (in this case ex husbands, if such a thing was possible). Episode 2 was no better than Episode 1.

By the time the credit list had rolled, I had buried a show that once formed part of my comedy staple.The time was 23:33 hours, the place my living room and my state of mind completely shattered.

Do you tweet? Follow @ChokolateHoney

Leave a Reply

Bliss of being Mommy

The pleasures and challenges of a first time Mom

WEHNAM

Homage to men who support women: The blog that deals with matters specifically relating to African women those in rural areas and in the diaspora

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Nesh around the World

Pieces of life

İnsanlık Hali

Her insanda insanlığın bütün halleri vardır- Montaigne

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Ella Elle L'A

"Ella, she's got it"- Kate Ryan

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

thesethingsarefun

Oh the places you'll go!

Walking slowly

Footsteps into Africa

Stifflered

Home of Tim Stiffler-Dean

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

Natasha Bernal

Journalist

