The dilemma of figuring out life…

Life dilemma, got one?

You can be anything you want to be. That is the philosophy that we are raised on.As a little girl I had already made my career choice. I was going to be an  engineer. What kind didn’t matter. I wanted a greased overall, ear plugs and a bag full of fancy spanners. I knew my rivets from my screws which I belived to be a milestone for a 3rd grader.All I needed was to ace  maths from there on and I was on my way to becoming the best female engineer out there.

Roll 17 years ahead.

‘Aunty, what have you chosen for yourself?’ my little nephew asks.

‘I mean like I want to be a Pilot when I grow up. What about you?’ he elaborates.

What did I choose for myself?

I can’t say.

Somewhere along the line I abandoned my childhood dream and  went through 3 years of uni studying an undergraduate degree in computing  with the hopes of  taking on a job as a business system analyst just to realize at the end that I did not have enough passion for it. Toyed around with the idea of being a software engineer but  decided hours of coding  was not really my calling. I found interest in writting and took up  jornalism which I abandoned 7 assignments later with 5 to go. Enrolled myself for a fashion designing course and dreamt of being the next Galliano  I dropped that in 12 months for a charitable calling.

As the trend goes I have been hoping from one career stream to the next not really sure of what to do next. Whatever I have found interesting I have enrolled on a course to do it. Recently I was considering a course on Third Sector Management just having finished a postgraduate in Business Management.

When I saw this picture I just realized, ‘how ironinc? This is just like me.’

I have been evaluating my journey and I have been led to question myself, ‘why have I been in this roller coster?’ Some say this is because I lacked proper consultation and guidance growing up.

Consultation? Is that all?

I am still on a journey of self discovery. May be oneday I’ll just find a place to settle down. For the time being I’ll put on my safety gear and enjoy this roller coaster ride.

Do you tweet? Follow @ChokolateHoney

Leave a Reply

Bliss of being Mommy

The pleasures and challenges of a first time Mom

WEHNAM

Homage to men who support women: The blog that deals with matters specifically relating to African women those in rural areas and in the diaspora

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Nesh around the World

Pieces of life

İnsanlık Hali

Her insanda insanlığın bütün halleri vardır- Montaigne

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Ella Elle L'A

"Ella, she's got it"- Kate Ryan

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

thesethingsarefun

Oh the places you'll go!

Walking slowly

Footsteps into Africa

Stifflered

Home of Tim Stiffler-Dean

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

Natasha Bernal

Journalist

