A taste of Guyana- Vermicelli cake

I had to get off work early due to a terrible headache. After about 3 hours of rest I was feeling better and had lots of time to spare so I decided to take an exortic holiday in the kitchen. My brother-in-law bought vermicelli the day before, we normally cook it with coconut milk and add sugar, a dish locally known as tambi. I wanted a sweet delicacy that would calm and comfort my mind. It is times like these that take me down memory lane to search for my past favourites- I remembered vermicelli cakes we used to eat on eid, hit Google search and clicked the first three websites.
Suprise, suprise!
I had no idea that vermicelli cake is Guyanese I always thought it was Egyptian because I almost always ate it at our Egyptian friends’ homes.
After careful reading, I learnt that the basic ingredients are vermicelli, condensed milk, whole milk, sugar and spices and essences (vanilla,almond). The rest is totally up to your taste bud.
I decided to make a peaches (I don’t like canned cherries) and raisins vermicelli cake dressed with milk chocolate shavings (nothing beats chocolate comfort) and shredded carrots to add crunch ( I had no nuts otherwise I would have topped with hazels).
The result was a delish dessert, I couldn’t have enough of 🙂

image

I used the recipe from http://www.inner-gourmet.com because it has a picture guide and is easy to follow.
Even though using peaches takes away the attractive reds, for my first attempt I was more than satisfied:-)
image

Explore a new destination through your taste buds. This simple dessert has got me craving for a trip to Guyana.
What’s the best vermicelli recipe you’ve had, any experience with other vermicelli based desserts?
Please share your culinary experience.

Leave a Reply

Bliss of being Mommy

The pleasures and challenges of a first time Mom

WEHNAM

Homage to men who support women: The blog that deals with matters specifically relating to African women those in rural areas and in the diaspora

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Nesh around the World

Pieces of life

İnsanlık Hali

Her insanda insanlığın bütün halleri vardır- Montaigne

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Ella Elle L'A

"Ella, she's got it"- Kate Ryan

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

thesethingsarefun

Oh the places you'll go!

Walking slowly

Footsteps into Africa

Stifflered

Home of Tim Stiffler-Dean

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

Natasha Bernal

Journalist

