Uhuru X Uhuru The Pre Training Preparations: Making Sense of Half-Marathon Training Plans

@FactHive:June is Rebuild Your Life Month”

Wow!

Finally got most of my training plan figured out!

Yesterday morning I woke up to survey my training route. The starting point is of course my house then I go jogging along the dirt road around the neighbourhood. The route is pretty varied with some areas of the road muddy others semi-forest due to the rains. Probably this will provide for a fun and adventurous run.

To get this training going I have to be up by 5:00a.m. Only the cock is up at this dark hour! However let’s do this.

My running gear is pretty basic; Nike Dri-Fit Tee and wind fly trouser, watch, mobile phone, Google maps and pretty beat-up Nike Trainers.

The biggest challenge I have had during my pre-training preparations is choosing a training plan. Like every 21st century genius my method of solving problems is Googling it.

‘Half-Marathon training plans.’ I managed to find 3 promising plans.

‘Thanks Google search!’

Now the tricky part begins. What category of training do I need?  Is it a beginner, intermediate or advanced/expert? I am not an expert that’s for sure. However I have done some running about 2 years ago and then I have been on and off.

Breakthrough Breast Cancer: Harvey Walden IV’s Training Plan

This plan gives you an indication of the pace, distance and heart rate targets as well as handy tips and weekly summaries. I do not have the facilities to monitor most of the the key indicators. This plan is good but not for me.

Barnado’s Half-Marathon training programme: Intermediate

This is a basic endurance training plan with just time goals which works for me. The 30 minute runs at the beginning are something that I can work towards successfully. The only hindrance for me is that some part of the training requires circuit training in the park which will be difficult to find around my area as there are no such facilities and the open space are hilly. In addition I prefer not to train on Mondays and Thursdays. So this would have been so right but unfortunately not.

BUPA 13.1 MILE (Half Marathon) Training Programme: Beginners

This training plan offers a variety of routines which makes it look a lot more interesting. It also offers cross training in week 4 which is something to look forward to as I would like to mix it up with swimming sessions. The best part about this training is that I get to choose what day to start my training plan and as such I have managed to secure Monday and Thursday as rest days.

‘Hooray!’ I have found a training plan that works for me.

An interesting fact is that this programme is for beginners but looks so much like the intermediate programmes from Barnado’s. Looks like BUPA runners are seriously fit.

Next: Following and Liking BUPA running on Twitter and Facebook. Then prepare for my first running session tomorrow morning.

Yippee!!!  😀

Leave a Reply

Bliss of being Mommy

The pleasures and challenges of a first time Mom

WEHNAM

Homage to men who support women: The blog that deals with matters specifically relating to African women those in rural areas and in the diaspora

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Nesh around the World

Pieces of life

İnsanlık Hali

Her insanda insanlığın bütün halleri vardır- Montaigne

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Ella Elle L'A

"Ella, she's got it"- Kate Ryan

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

thesethingsarefun

Oh the places you'll go!

Walking slowly

Footsteps into Africa

Stifflered

Home of Tim Stiffler-Dean

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

Natasha Bernal

Journalist

