Culinary Delight: A foodie’s guide to eating Sushi & Sashimi

I have been evading Sushi and Sashimi for the longest time mainly because my tongue shudders at the thought of raw fish. But since we promised ourselves to give everything that is Halal out there a try, I decided that the new month was the perfect start. I had no previous experience with Sushi- how to order, what to expect or how to eat it? A few key word searches and I found the I love Coffee guide with which I felt well armored to tackle the Sushi experience. What was left was where to get it in Arusha, tripadvisor reviews lead me to Sazan Japanese Restaurant.

A quick review of Sazan:

A small run down restaurant with appreciable customer care. Although the staff are friendly they did not demonstrate any knowledge of the cuisine they were serving which was a big miss because apart from mentioning the best sellers they couldn’t do much on recommendation. I felt the lack of knowledge killed the whole culinary experience. It’s probably a place that would be most fitting for someone who has the Sushi and Sashimi know how.

I have never had Japanese before so I can’t comment on authenticity but I’m pretty sure the rice was not Japanese in fact it tasted like the local rice we cook at home. Our plate had rice balls wrapped in prawns, smoked salmon and a fish I have no idea which. I enjoyed the smoked Salmon however even though I almost cleared the table, I kind of wanted my money back because I wasn’t really satisfied with the whole experience.

How would you eat this?

Our Meal At Sazan Japanese, Arusha

Our Meal At Sazan Japanese, Arusha

Follow this popular guide by I love coffee

sushi eating guide

How to eat Sushi and Sashimi

At the end of it all, that’s how we ate – almost cleared the table.

Our Table After We Were Done

Our Table After We Were Done

A guide to eating Sushi. Click on the image for the full 8 step guide.

A guide to eating Sushi. Click on the image for the full 8 step guide.

Have you had Sushi?

More guides that you may find helpful:

So Bad So Good – 8 Step Guide To Enjoying Japanese

Randy Johnson’s ‘Sushi a la Carte’

Leave a Reply

Bliss of being Mommy

The pleasures and challenges of a first time Mom

WEHNAM

Homage to men who support women: The blog that deals with matters specifically relating to African women those in rural areas and in the diaspora

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Nesh around the World

Pieces of life

İnsanlık Hali

Her insanda insanlığın bütün halleri vardır- Montaigne

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Ella Elle L'A

"Ella, she's got it"- Kate Ryan

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

thesethingsarefun

Oh the places you'll go!

Walking slowly

Footsteps into Africa

Stifflered

Home of Tim Stiffler-Dean

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

Natasha Bernal

Journalist

