Return policy for restaurants

In the past few days I have had the opportunity to eat food that didn’t taste good. Even my best restaurants have somehow managed to damage their menu. I had a Bianca pizza at IndoItaliano that was soo oily even my big appetite nephews gave up on it. And just yesterday, I had a quarter grilled chicken that was soo dry, I felt my jaw would dislocate. I paid for both regardless.
As far as tradition goes, one should not criticize the food they are served and should find some good in it to complement the chef. Tradition works when the cook is my mum, my aunt, my sister; family and friends. But when I’m using my hard earned money to pay for it, I find it hard to keep shut the criticism in my heart. I’m an avid reviewer, when I don’t like it I make a point of mentioning it. To my defence, I’m helping other’s not to end up regreting buying something in which you can’t claim your money back.
It’s about time that restaurant’s have a returns policy to be fair on the consumer. Once we have that, there will be no bad review because all unsatisfied customers would have their money back and will most likely not feel aggressive. There’s nothing more aggravating than the feeling of being cheated.

image

The memories of this meal lingers.

I’m not just about criticizing; when I enjoy a meal, I make sure that everyone I know has a taste of it. My attitude to food is like Ego, the food critic in Ratatouille. I’m not a better cook but I’m a lover of great food. I think it compensates for my not soo great cooking skills.
Having said that, here’s a list of my favourite meals in Kilimanjaro and the kitchens that serve them.
Breakfast:
-Maandazi and Moccha at Aroma Coffee House.
-Maandazi at Big bite.
-Karimati and beef soup at Tumaini canteen, KCMC.
-Masala tea at Uhuru hostel.
Main course:
– Baijan bharta and steamed rice at 10 to 10.
– Cheese naan at Milan restaurant.
– Drumsticks at El Rancho.
-Steak and chips at Moshi club.
Salad:
Garden salad at Uhuru hostel is the only money worth salad I have had the pleasure of ordering mire than once. Simply because the portion size is in agreement with the price.
Dessert:
Please give me a recommendation because I’m yet to find any worth recommending.

image

Not all good looking utensils have great tasting food.

3 comments

  1. I’m so glad I found this blog- as I’m a foodie living in Moshi and always trying to find the ‘best of the best.’ In terms of dessert- I loved the chocolate mousse at Union Coffee House.

    1. Thanks Rebecca 🙂
      Nice to virtually meet you and we appreciate the tip on what dessert to have at Coffee Union. I shy away from the dessert display because I’m often disappointed. I will definitely try the Chocolate mouse.

    2. Thanks Rebecca. It is always nice to get recommendations from other foodies it makes the hunt for the next delicacy more interesting 🙂

Leave a Reply

Bliss of being Mommy

The pleasures and challenges of a first time Mom

WEHNAM

Homage to men who support women: The blog that deals with matters specifically relating to African women those in rural areas and in the diaspora

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Nesh around the World

Pieces of life

İnsanlık Hali

Her insanda insanlığın bütün halleri vardır- Montaigne

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Ella Elle L'A

"Ella, she's got it"- Kate Ryan

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

thesethingsarefun

Oh the places you'll go!

Walking slowly

Footsteps into Africa

Stifflered

Home of Tim Stiffler-Dean

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

Natasha Bernal

Journalist

