Top 5 reasons why city executives need to get out of the city life!

Deadlines, rush hour, presentations, networking and meeting after meeting, to be honest living in the city I feel that I am always chasing time. I am used to the Monday to Friday and over 20 hours a day of putting my brain to work trying to sort one problem or the next. Brainstorming from 22:00 to 02:00 or even in my sleep is absolutely normal and I have not even got to the hassle of commuting from home to work for God knows how many hours!  It is not strange for me to have to schedule a social meet up over FaceBook or Whatsapp when the days get really hectic. I can’t keep track of the last time I made it to the pool for a recreational swim or just a healthy run around the block. It always feels like I have to go out of my way to squeeze in some time for  fitness or a casual meet up. That is the kind of life I live in the city!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last night I went to bed around 19:30. Lying under my blankets, in total darkness, I looked at the bright stars decorating the deep night sky as if I was in a state of meditation. I felt completely at peace listening to the wind as it passed through the trees outside caressing their branches and all the night creatures as they took ownership of the hour. Strangely I had no worries in my mind. I felt no need to schedule or reschedule anything. There was no deadline or brainstorming session to worry about. This is how I have lived for the past week.

For the last 8 days or so I have taken a break from my usual city life in a village that is far away from home. From a reflection of my experience, here are the top 5 reasons why city executives need to take a break and experience/re-experience village life:

5. You can reconnect with nature; star gazing at night, Sun bathing in the morning, discovering insects you have never paid attention to or just watching the animals grazing in the field.
4. You re-learn skills of making real time conversations with real people and discover their stories and not just liking FaceBook status messages.
3. You reward your body with the needed detox and physical work out. Almost everything you do in the village is manual, from fetching water for a bath to walking to the nearest shop, your body will thank you.
2. You re-evaluate the most important things in life. When you are away from the city you realize that all you need in life are your basic necessities; food, shelter, water, air and clothing everything else is a blessing to be thankful for.
1. You learn to take charge of your time. While living away from city life I have come to realize that time is what I make of it. I wake up when the sun rises and sleep when it sets and in between I do all that I need to do without being worried about the passage of time.

Leave a Reply

Bliss of being Mommy

The pleasures and challenges of a first time Mom

WEHNAM

Homage to men who support women: The blog that deals with matters specifically relating to African women those in rural areas and in the diaspora

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Nesh around the World

Pieces of life

İnsanlık Hali

Her insanda insanlığın bütün halleri vardır- Montaigne

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Ella Elle L'A

"Ella, she's got it"- Kate Ryan

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

thesethingsarefun

Oh the places you'll go!

Walking slowly

Footsteps into Africa

Stifflered

Home of Tim Stiffler-Dean

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

Natasha Bernal

Journalist

