Travel Africa Bucket list: Abseiling at Victoria Falls in Livingstone Zambia

When I tell my close friends and relatives that one of my dreams is to be able to jump off a cliff, I get various reactions. Who would want to jump off a cliff unless they had a death wish? Even more bewildering what kind of girl would find a kick in that? Strangely enough I am that kind of girl who would go looking for what may seem like dangerous activities. Even more strange is that I would want to jump off a cliff even though I am afraid of heights!

Why?

I really have no idea!

image

“What you need to remember is that you should always have your feet apart and your head and body leaning backwards to avoid twisting. If you find that you have lost balance and are twisting release your top arm and hold the walls of the rock to regain balance. Never let go of the arm holding the lower side of the rope!” My instructor had just finished my induction into abseiling.

What is abseiling?

It is the controlled descent of a vertical drop, such as a rock face, using a rope.

image

What does it feel like doing abseiling in Victoria Falls Livingstone, Zambia?

I was just about 2 metres down but I could feel the beginning of lactic acid build up in my biceps from all the balance work. Thanks to a recent squat challenge my feet could keep up with the reverse squat position  Between trying to remember to leave my feet apart and leaning forward 10 metres below I could feel my abs absolutely engaged. It doesn’t look like such a difficult thing to do however once you get into it, it is a total work out!

 

Can any one do it? Can a total beginner do it?

I have been advised that abseiling is a sport for everyone irrespective of fitness level and experience. You will get an induction and safety training before you commence the activity and you will always have experienced guides to ensure your safety while descending. The guides prefer to let you experience abseiling by practicing how to use your body and rope to get down the rock walls however if it becomes too much for you then they can gently lower you down while you maintain a hands free position.

How far is the Victoria fall drop?

Around 54 metres.

Who can organize an abseiling tour in Livingstone Zambia?

Most backpackers offer abseiling through local tour companies for $55 which includes transfer. This is probably the easiest way to book a trip first time round. I booked my trip through Fawlty Tower backpackers.

Tips

1- You can get a bargain by talking to people who have done the activity before since once you have done the activity you can get contacts of the staff who can arrange a cheaper deal.
2- You may need to be a bit physically fit as once you reach the bottom you have to hitch hike  your way back. That is 54m up and some! Beware lots of steps involved.
3- Always take care of your valuables especially money. Even if you get offered a safe box don’t leave any money behind! Rule of thumb is to wear a trouser with really good pockets.
4- If you plan to do a half day, start off early so that you have plenty of time to recover between activities.

Happy ascent and decent 🙂

Leave a comment

Bliss of being Mommy

The pleasures and challenges of a first time Mom

WEHNAM

Homage to men who support women: The blog that deals with matters specifically relating to African women those in rural areas and in the diaspora

She's A Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

The Byronic Man

Joel K Clements

Nesh around the World

Pieces of life

İnsanlık Hâlİ

HUMAN CONDITION

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Ella Elle L'A

"Ella, she's got it"- Kate Ryan

Coco J. Ginger Says

Poems and stories of love & heartbreak.

thesethingsarefun

Oh the places you'll go!

Stifflered

Home of Tim Stiffler-Dean

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

Blogverse Journey

by Vikram Roy

The Happy Hermit

Hot-shot lawyer when necessary. Hitchhiking hobo as often as I can.